Skip to main content
site header image

Religious Studies: A Research Guide: Dictionaries and Biographies

High Library Information

QuickSearch

Library Catalog

Journal Finder

Interlibrary Loan

Ask Us:

Email

Text: 717-759-9178

Call: 717-361-1461

Chat with a Librarian

Chat:

Reference Hours:

8:30 am - 5 pm    Mon-Fri

6 pm - 9 pm    Mon-Thurs

*Break and Summer Hours Vary

Reference Hours

Monday: 8:30 - 5:00 & 6:00 - 9:00
Tuesday:8:30 - 5:00
& 6:00 - 9:00
Wednesday: 8:30 - 5:00
& 6:00 - 9:00
Thursday: 8:30 - 5:00
& 6:00 - 9:00
Friday: 8:30 - 5:00

* Hours vary during breaks.

Dictionaries (Ref books located level 2)

The Anchor Bible Dictionary, 6 vols., 1992  (Ref 220.3 An539)

The Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation, 2 vols., 1999  (Ref 220.603 D5544)

The Continuum Dictionary of Religion, 1994.  (Ref 200.3 C762)

The Dictionary of Bible and Religion, 1986.  (203 D554)

Dictionary of Biblical Imagery, 1998.  (Ref 220.3 D5542)

A Dictionary of Buddhism, 1972.  (Ref 294.3 D554)

Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period : 450 B.C.E. to 600 C.E., 2 vols., 1996.  (296.0901 D554)

A Dictionary of Judaism and Christianity, 1991.  (Ref 296.03  C6782d)

Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion: Eastern and Western Thought, 1980.  (103 R329d)

Eastern Definitions: A Short Encyclopedia of Religions of the Orient..., 1980  (Ref 290.3495e)

The Eerdmans dictionary of early Judaism, 296.0901 Ee26. Located on level 3                         

The Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible, 1976.  (220.3 In61)

The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible, 2006. (Ref. 220.3 N532)

The Oxford handbook of Jewish daily life in Roman Palestine, 930 Ox98. Located on level 4                                 

 

Biographies (Ref books located level 2)

Who's Who of World Religions, 1992.  (200.922 W628)

Subject Guide

Rachel Grove Rohrbaugh's picture
Rachel Grove Rohrbaugh
Contact:
Hess Archives and Special Collections
Elizabethtown College
One Alpha Drive
Elizabethtown, Pa 17022
717-361-1506
Website / Blog Page