Skip to main content
site header image

FYS American Environmentalism: Readings in Conservation History

Writing and Citation Assistance

Writing

You can get help from a writing tutor at the Center for Student Success/Learning Services at E-town.

Writing Tutors are also in the High Library Sunday-Thursday 7-9 pm and are available on a drop-in basis.

Citing

Ask a librarian! Feel free to stop by the reference desk, email, call, or text with your question!

Loading ...

Annotated Bibliographies

Selected MLA Works Cited Examples

Book with one author

Author's name: Last Name, First Name. Book Title (italicized). Publisher, year.

Sparks, Nicholas. The Best of Me. Grand Central Publishing, 2011.

Article from a database (e.g. Academic Search Premier) - For three or more authors

Author's Name(s): Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Journal Title (italicized), volume, issue, month year, page numbers. name of database (italicized), stable URL, (if none can be found use doi number)

Segal, Scott ,et. al. "Plagiarism in Residency Application Essays." Annals of Internal Medicine, vol. 153, no. 2, July 2010, 112-120. MEDLINE Complete, doi:10.7326/0003-4819-153-2-201007200-00007.

Online MLA Citation Examples

Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style has two different formats:

-notes and bibliography

-author-date

Most humanities courses use the notes and bibliography format, while the author-date format is common with social sciences. If you aren't sure which you should be using, check with your professor!

This guide will focus on the notes and bibliography format.

Selected Chicago Notes & Bibliography Examples

Notes on Notes

The first note should always contain a complete citation (example 1 below), subsequent notes may use the abbreviated form (example 2 below).

Subsequent notes that immediately follow a note from the same source and page may use "Ibid." as the full note (no quotation marks). If the source is the same, but the page is different, use "Ibid., page#."

Notes should ALWAYS be Arabic numerals (1, 2, 3....) NOT Roman (i, ii, iii...)

 

Book with one author (print)

Notes

1. FirstName LastName, Full Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), pages cited.

2. LastName, Shortened Title, pages cited.

1. Mary Roach, Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void (New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2010), 63-65.

2. Roach, Packing for Mars, 149-150.

Bibliography

LastName, FirstName. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Roach, Mary. Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in theVoid. New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2010.

 

Journal article from a database (e.g. Academic Search Complete)

Notes

1. FirstName LastName, "Full Article Title," Journal volume#, issue # (year): pages cited, doi:#[or url].

2. LastName, "Shortened Article Title," pages cited.

1. Elizabeth DeLoughrey, "Satellite Planetarity and the Ends of the Earth," Public Culture 26, no. 2 (2014): 260-261, doi:10.1215/08992363-2392057.

2. DeLoughrey, "Satellite Planetarity," 273.

Bibliography

LastName, FirstName. "Title of Article." Journal Title volume#, issue #, (year): page range. doi or persistent URL for the article.

DeLoughrey, Elizabeth. "Satellite Planetarity and the Ends of the Earth." Public Culture 26, no. 2 (2014): 257-280. doi:10.1215/08992363-2392057.

 

Website without an author

Notes

1. "Title of webpage/article," Name of Website. date of publication/update, URL.

2. "Shortened Title."

1. "Women in Space," NASA History Program Office, last modified May 2015, https://history.nasa.gov/women.html.

2. "Women in Space."

Bibliography

"Title of webpage/article." Name of Website. Date of Publication/Update, URL.

"Women in Space." NASA History Program Office. Last modified May 2015. https://history.nasa.gov/women.html.

 

Online Chicago Citation Examples