Reference database that provides access to a large number of biographical sources, atlases, and encyclopedias covering the arts, business, economics, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more.
Provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. Also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.
A large collection of full-text works of prose, poetry and drama. Works may be located by author or title, or searched full-text for specific words or phrases. Also includes secondary sources of biographical and critical pieces on authors and their works.
With many lucid essays on major writers and themes by some of the best literary scholars in the United States, The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story offers readers a wealth of information and insight into the work of many of the finest short story writers in literary history. Part one of the book is comprised of articles on stories that share a particular theme, such as "The American Working-Class Short Story" or "Lesbian and Gay Short Stories". Part two contains pieces on individual writers and their work, including Ernest Hemingway, Raymond Carver and J.D. Salinger.
You can search for story titles using the thin, paperback print index that should be located at the very end of this reference collection. You may find author indexes in every hardcover volume. You can also search the Gale Literary Online Index, linked at the top of this box.